Buddy Read: A Tale for the Time Being

 

Screen shot 2014-07-09 at 10.42.34 PM

(credits to Mariel for this cool graphic)

My bestie Mariel and I will be doing a buddy read for the novel A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. 

atfttb

 

We thought it would be entertaining to write some thoughts and predictions on the book before reading. 

Book Cover:

I love the cover. I know I posted the other ones as well, but this one is my favorite. It’s attention-grabbing, but not overpowering. I’m not assuming that the girl on the first strip is Ruth or Nao, but she does look Asian, so we’ll see. I think the two landscapes shown are the different parts of the world they live in, and the chest between them is a time capsule, since they have a significant historical gap.

Also, since I bought the paperback edition, the cover is one of those awesomely soft feeling covers that I kind of enjoy running my hands over. The slightly indented title text is also really nice.

Book Trailer:

It was ok, but kind of bland. And what was that accent? Just no. Solely from the book trailer, I would have thought that the book would be a slow-paced, philosophical journey. The slow-moving beach scenery was pretty. I’ve seen worse book trailers, but I’ve also seen much better.

Blurb and reviews:

It seems to be critically acclaimed, and some of my favorite authors such as Junot Diaz and Elizabeth Gilbert have raved about this book. Because of them, I have pretty high expectations for this book. And the appendices Mariel was referring to? I read the first one, the explanation for what is a time being, and it was like super deep. Like wow what is life/existence deep. As for the blurb, I think the story will be told in very distinctive voices, as sixteen-year old girls can have.

Conclusion:

I don’t know.I did the page 69 test and Nao was still introducing her family, which is a little strange, but the last paragraph could be feelsy if I had more context. It sounds really interesting, and the cover is quite captivating. That’s more than enough for me to want to read it.

Here’s the link to Mariel‘s post for this:

http://booksthefinalfrontier.wordpress.com/2014/07/10/buddy-read-a-tale-for-the-time-being-covertrailer/

-Selina

 

Leave a Reply

