Review: Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust

 

Image

 

My first review on WordPress! This is one of the few graphic novels I have read and I absolutely loved it. I was introduced to this book at the Los Angeles Times Book Awards when Ulli Lust was awarded best graphic novel for this masterpiece and I bought it at one of the most amazing bookstores I have had the pleasure of exploring.  This is the graphic novel equivalent of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants except it didn’t the unrealistic expectations of foreign romance, but just better in every aspect. This book was hilarious without being pretentious, lively with punk spirit, and also quite moving. It explored prejudice against women, rape, drug addiction, perceptions of consent, and gender roles.  Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life was raw, authentic, and utterly unique. I highly recommend it. 

5/5 stars. Definitely.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust

  1. This book looks hardcore, so it’s interesting that you compare it to Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I’ve only read one or two graphic novels before, but maybe this one will be my third.

    • It definitely is hardcore, it’s like comparing the female protagonists of a disney princess movie and Lisbeth Salander. 🙂 If you do read this book (I hope you do), I would love to hear your thoughts on it. Thanks for being my first commenter!

Leave a Reply

